logo subpagesEST 1961

Fender with Ruskin pottery

£1400
447.jpg_product
Fender with Ruskin pottery Fender with Ruskin pottery Fender with Ruskin pottery Fender with Ruskin pottery Fender with Ruskin pottery Fender with Ruskin pottery Fender with Ruskin pottery Fender with Ruskin pottery Fender with Ruskin pottery

Fender with Ruskin pottery

£1400

A copper and brass fireplace fender decorated with three inset cabochons made by the Ruskin pottery, circa 1900 - 1910.

Width: 137 cm.

Depth: 38 cm.

Height: 12 cm.

 

The Ruskin Pottery was an English art pottery studio founded in 1898 by Edward R. Taylor. It was named after the artist, writer and social thinker John Ruskin. The pottery was situated at 173-174 Oldbury Road, Smethwick.

The pottery was notable for the innovative glazes used on a range of brightly coloured pots, vases, buttons, bowls, tea services and jewellery.

When the studio closed in 1935 the formulae for the glazes and all the pottery documentation were deliberately destroyed, so that the unique Ruskin products could never be replicated.